

July 17, 2017

The Honorable Michael Crapo Chairman Banking, Housing & Urban Affairs Committee U.S. Senate 534 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Jeb Hensarling Chairman Committee on Financial Services U.S. House of Representatives 2129 Rayburn House Office Building The Honorable Sherrod Brown Ranking Member Banking, Housing & Urban Affairs Committee U.S. Senate 534 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Maxine Waters Ranking Member Committee on Financial Services U.S. House of Representatives protected and policies are available. We remain extensively engaged to promote an optimal regulatory framework—and private flood insurance is no exception.

We commend Senators Heller and Tester and Representatives Ross and Castor for introducing the Flood Insurance Market Parity and Modernization Act to help encourage greater growth in the private flood insurance market, provide consumers with additional choices for flood insurance products, and make clear that the state insurance regulatory authorities that have long protected insurance consumers and allowed for the growth of a vibrant insurance market will apply to private flood insurance. State insurance regulators will meet any new challenges posed by a dynamic private flood insurance market and remain committed to effective regulation and consumer protection.

We look forward to working with you to advance this critical legislation as part of NFIP reauthorization.

Sincerely,

Theodore K. Nickel NAIC President

Commissioner

Wisconsin Office of the

Commissioner of Insurance

Julie Mix McPeak
NAIC President-Elect
Commissioner

Tennessee Department of

Commerce & Insurance

Eric A. Cioppa

NAIC Vice President

Superintendent

Maine Bureau of Insurance

Raymond G. Farmer NAIC Secretary-Treasurer Director

South Carolina Department of Insurance

Michael F. Consedine

Chief Executive Officer

National Association of Insurance

Commissioners

Cc: The Honorable Dean Heller, U.S. Senate

The Honorable Jon Tester, U.S. Senate

The Honorable Dennis Ross, U.S. House of Representatives